Meet Michelle!
March 31, 2008, 5:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

                                                              mich.jpg

Hi! My name is Rong Zheng. I like people to call me Michelle. I am a 17 years old high school student at International High School @ Prospect Heights. In my school, there are many students that come from different countries. It’s a very cool place, I can learn many things in my school.

As a Chinese immigrant, I think the most important thing to let people to know about me is I want to be an immigration officer in the future. As an immigrant, I know how it felt to come to a new country, study about a new culture and learn about a new language. Studying political science in college and when I graduate form the college, I want to go to law school to learn more things about how to be an immigration officer. This is the goal that I set for my future life.

I like to read books. I believe that books can improve people’s knowledge and we always can learn something in books that we have never learned before in our real life. I also like to meet people. I think meeting people can help you improve your knowledge about the world. Different people have different thinking, these ideas that they have can help you a lot in the future, and it’s very helpful.

One thing that I am proud of myself about is that I know what I want; I know what my goal is. There are many people in the world that they don’t know what they want, they just waste their life. My father always told me that: “people must be known what they want and what they need. Once we have a goal, we need to step out the first step. Because when we know our first step, then we will find our way.” I always remember these words that my father told me, because it’s encourages me a lot. It’s also help me overcomes many obstacles that I need to face.

UnLocal is an organization that trying to help immigrant people in the New York City’s community. These services including health care services, legal services, educational services, employment services, etc. UnLocal is important because it’s will help immigrants people get as many benefits as they can. Many immigrants people in the U.S.A don’t know how to speak English. In the UnLocal organization, we can help them translate English to the native language; we also can help them find jobs, to make living in the U.S.A. It’s a very helpful organization to let immigrants have the opportunity to express themselves in the U.S.A.

 


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

It was wonderful that you went on a tour of the Midwood library. It is so important for everyone to know how much they can learn from going to the public or school libraries. It is the job of library staff members to help you get information.Libraries are funded by public monies so it is for everyone. Immigrants in particular should feel comfortable going to the library and asking for help. Librarians are awesome resources. Even if they don’t know the answer, they always know where to get it. Empower yourself and go to the library and ask questions. You will gain valuable information to help you move ahead in your life. Good luck!!!

Comment by Viviane Lampach




Leave a comment